Doctor Who Season 7

So I’ve started rewatching Doctor Who – the ease of having it all on iPlayer can not be overstated. When I first watched all of Doctor Who (excluding the first six seasons due to the missing episodes) I worked my way backwards with the Doctors, so this time I’m planning to watch it in order. I did watch The Daleks in Colour which I thought was great besides some of the music choices, in many ways I think a lot of classic Doctor Who would benefit from the treatment, there’s a lot of repetition in the early episodes e.g. the Doctor says what he’s going to do, someone repeats it back to him and then he explains it again while doing it… and sometimes once more afterwards. Also 75 minutes is much easier to fit into a sitting than 140 minutes.

I’d say season 7 was strong, all the epsidoes were enjoyable. The only weird thing is how quickly the Doctor forgives the Brigadier in the following episode after blowing up the Silurians. Although this was Liz’s only season I enjoyed her as a companion, it’s not often you see the Doctor take scientific advice from a companion. Whether or not it was intentional I felt some parallels with Jodie’s first season, non-evil aliens, human villains, starting the season falling out of the Tardis.

Spearhead from Space
I enjoyed this, highlights included the confusion around the Doctor’s regeneration, it does seem to be taken a bit too for granted in modern WHO (besides Clara) how quickly people adapt to the Doctor changing. I think my memories of this episode were some what merged with the next Auton episode.

Doctor Who and the Silurians
I had completely forgotten the epidemic section from when I last watched this episode, the rest was really familar. Was a real shame the ending didn’t have more of an impact in the next story, maybe the Doctor could have persauded the Brigadier that he was wrong about the Silurians after the ambassadors turned out not to be evil.

The Ambassadors of Death
I genuinely could not remember this story at all. I enjoyed it although I think the plot twists could been revealed much sooner given how obvious they were. I feel it would have worked better had Carrington’s reveal not been so foreshadowed. Not a bad story but probably the weakest story of the season though mostly because it felt the most padded, would have benefited from being a couple of episodes shorter.

Inferno
A fun story, one whose repetition managed to be repetitive but still varied with the alternate versions of the characters. Parallel universes isn’t played with that often in Doctor Who but they’re usually fun stories. The first story I can recall of Doctor Who where the cliffhanger is the literal end of the world, possibly gets a bit common in time.

Leave a comment